Reptile Kindergarten Unit

I’m going to start keeping track of what I’m doing for my kid’s school by posting it up here.  This way all my links are in one place for me, and hopefully someone else can benefit from my work 🙂  I will primarily be posting what I am doing for my youngest two.  The first one I am going to put up is my reptile unit:

Materials: printer paper and ink, cookie cutters, dish sponges, tempura paint, pipe cleaners, ruler, paper, crayons or markers, paper plate, string, paper bowl, foil, cardstock or cardboard, glue, dishwashing soap, food coloring, paintbrushes, googly eyes

Everyday we will be using this Kindergarten Kit.

We will also be watching Magic School Bus season 2 episode 12, Cold Feet on Netflix streaming.

Day 1:

Read Eye wonder: Reptiles

Learn about reptiles

Rr is for reptiles coloring page

Reptile sponge painting (can use cookie cutters to make the templates and use tempura paint)

Day 2:

Read Verdi 

Ss is for snake printing page 

Snake cut and paste

Snake measuring activity

Day 3:

Read Crictor

S is for snake coloring page

Silly Snake video (scroll to bottom of page)

Spiral Snake craft

Day 4:

Read Look Out for Turtles!

Turtle craft

Tt coloring page

Tt printing page

Turtle cut and paste

Day 5:

Read A Color of His Own ( I will use this paint instead)

Chameleon craft

Day 6:

Read Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile

Cc is for crocodile coloring page

Cc printing page

Black Caiman video

Alligator craft (alligator…crocodile…close enough!)

 

Please note that more than likely some of these will be spread out over two days instead of one.  We are focusing primarily on phonics right now so when we hit a letter we don’t know very well I will split the activities up over two days, read the same book both days, and have the kids practice the letter that I have assigned both days.  I will be making flashcards each time I introduce a letter and we will go over the flashcards each day before we begin the other activities.

Leave a Reply

